The lone comment after my last posting is from my older and only brother, Dennis. It’s interesting the differences in our memories about my dad’s writing. I remember Dad’s more personal comments and, of course, the humor. Dennis remembers the political and social quips. I am assuming Dennis is correct, since I spent the first thirty years of my life in my own little world, and he spent his early years paying more attention. I suppose that was necessary for him to avoid getting caught more often. LOL.

S&J

I like small cars. My Mini-Cooper S is just the latest in a history of petite vehicles. I wish I could say that I’ve always picked a vehicle as green as the Mini, but that wouldn’t be true. It’s also not true for my husband, who traded his big GMC van in on a Toyota Prius about a year ago. The savings on gas makes the payment and then some.

When we were in Italy in 2004, I saw my first Smart Car. If my memory serves, we saw both the ForTwo and the ForFour models in a showroom in Rome. For the remainder of the trip, I took pictures of small vehicles, some of them quite old. (Check out the pictures on my Flickr link to the right.) I want to know what they knew then that we’re just learning? I sat at the traffic light at Royal Palm and 441 a couple of weeks ago and counted twenty-eight SUVs and small trucks crossing the intersection during the light cycle. Only one of those vehicles had more than one passenger.

Shame on us.

S&J

I talked with a young adult who has the notion that all politics are dirty. That’s not necessarily so, I reasoned. “Politics are about gaining control of scarce resources, often money, personnel, or space,” I said, “and with that comes power.” So, still reasoning, it stands to reason that politics are about the acquisition of power.

Duh? You say. Any first year college student knows that.

However, power isn’t necessarily a dirty word. Individuals intent on doing good have to acquire money, personnel, space, and other resources to enhance their position and their ability to achieve goals that are beneficial to society.

Insert eye roll and pained expression.

The young person believes that politics is advancing one’s self by trampling over the bodies of coworkers and associates in an effort to reach the top of the heap. Workplace backbiting, misinformation, and out-and-out slander are the weapons of choice.

I thought to argue, then reflected on the grievous examples being set by the professional politicians in our society. Have the bad mannered methods of the political elite filtered down to the workplace, leading to an anything goes to get ahead mentality rather than advancement through hard work and achievement?

Perhaps so. The Sun-Sentinel has a front page article in the Your Money section today (Thursday, July 17) that gives advice on dealing just this situation.

S&J

More later. 7-17-08 GB

