The Book Reviews I’m publishing at the moment are the same ones that have appeared in Murder on the Beach’s monthly newsletter. MOB is an independent mystery bookstore Delray Beach, Florida. Support your local independent book sellers. Besides being local businesses, they help assure a wider variety of reading materials for us all.

S&J

A literary agent I spoke with suggested I try a medical thriller/suspense, given my nursing background. Seeing the wisdom of the advice, I’m in the process of writing my first suspense novel. All the others I’ve written, seven in all, are cozy mysteries. The later ones are pretty good, but I fear they fall in the category: There is no reason not to publish them. There is no reason to publish them either. I’m a bit out of my comfort zone with the suspense, but I’m making progress. If my writing group is any indicator, being out of my comfort zone is a good thing.

S&J

Sometimes I wonder when I got so old that friends of my children get married, people I consider my peers retire, and contemporaries die of non-accidental causes. On the other hand, it is a pleasure to be here.

S&J

Speaking of friends, my good friend Cindy sent me a joke the other day. The bit was: Some people are like slinkies—not much use for anything, but fun to push down the stairs.

S&J

We went to the new Benihana in Coral Springs last night. (The one on Federal Highway has been there forever, and was, I believe, the original hibachi type Japanese restaurant in the area. I remember going there at least 35 years ago.) We called the night before for reservations and had our choice of 5:30 or 8:30. We were seated right on time at 8:30. The service was good and the food delicious. The show put on by the cook was not as good as the routine performed by the cooks at Peking-Tokyo, and the portions were not as generous, but plenty generous enough. Plum wine. Yum.

More later. GEB 3-22-09

