I copied the following from Twitter.  I’m mostly a lurker, seeing what my son and his techy friends chat about.  It’s in a different language.  “May turn benj.mn into an url shortener this weekend.” “When’s Tweetie going to integrate with Pikchur?” “Think i am done trying to do work-arounds for a mu wordpress setup on IIS. After vaca I will set up a *nix server and do it the real way.”  “Been using the latest Chrome build for OS X… kinda rough around the edges but, it doesn’t beachball 50% of the time like Safari.”  Go figure what they are talking about.

S&J

The people across the street have a new puppy.  She’s a 16-week-old Cocker-Cavalier mix named Lucy.  My plan is to invite her over to play the next time my grandpuppy girl, Roxy, visits.  My almost-seven-year-old Cavalier, Rex, is more likely to offer to eat them than to play.  Max, his litter mate, might cooperate for a minute, but no more than that.  Middle-aged dogs or middle-aged men, they’re not much different in my opinion.

S&J

I’m reading my way through the J.D. Robb in Death series.  J.D. Robb is a pen name used by Nora Roberts for her detective novels.  The setting is NYC in the late 2050’s.  The computers, cars, food, styles, weapons, and communication devices are futuristic.  The crimes, mostly murder, are the same as depicted in present-day novels.  As with many romance writers venturing into mystery, her point-of-view shifts, relationships, and sexual tension are all right out of the romance genre.  Interesting reading, but I think you gotta be a girl to like it.

S&J

I’m chairing a couple of search committees for new faculty at BC.  As a public institution, there is always concern about diversity among the candidates, among current employees, and on the search committee itself.  I reviewed the committee membership list and suggested another name to my associate dean, receiving the diversity speech in response.  I said that the person I suggested fit the category of old, white, and fluffy.  The associate dean said that quota was already filled.  By me!  LOL.

S&J

GEB

