Whispersync is a Kindle program that finds your last page read across various devices.  It allows me to read on my Kindle or iPad at home, then immediately find my place on my iPhone if I’m away from home.  To locate the last page read, the Kindle program must close on the iPhone or the iPad before the device is turned off.  It should have been obvious, but it wasn’t to me.  Go figure.

S&J

The Pages application for iPad is interesting and useful for wordprocessing, however, a document in progress must be closed before importing another.  My FIRST draft for this blog is long gone!

S&J

I bought the 250 megabyte cellular data plan for my iPad.  While we were on vacation for six days, I downloaded my email, played FarmVille a bit, read the paper, and looked up various things along the way.  The 3G was responsive in all locations.  I used 180 MB of data!  Wi-Fi is the way to go, though the 250 MB certainly bridges the gap and is more economical that most of the hotel Wi-Fi systems we encountered.

S&J

My husband, Steve, is getting into electronic gismos as well.  Some time ago, he bought a Blackberry, then he took it back because it was complicated.  Now he is reading on his Kindle, though I don’t know that he has downloaded a book yet.  (We share an account, so I put the books on his unit that he says he wants to read.)  But, and this is significant, he discontinued the South Florida Sun-Sentinel, except for the Sunday edition, and reads the paper in the morning on my iPad.  How cool is that?

I believe the subscription savings will pay for the iPad in ten years or so.

S&J

He was driving us on an errand the other day.  I sat in the passenger seat doing my email and playing with my iPhone.  He moaned about electronics and loss of human contact.  I suggested that his grandmother said that as well when the telephone appeared in her life.

I think the electronic gadgets and the social media have improved my human contact.  I’ve never been one for chatting on the phone.  Now I can keep in contact in a manner I find more convenient.  Just the other day, my stepsister Connie tagged me on Facebook.  We’ve found it difficult to stay in touch over the years.  Now I feel connected.

GEB

