Anyone reading this knows i love all things techie.  i have been accused of wanting anything that starts with an i … iPhone, iPod, iPad.  i admit it.  Next i intend to trade my iPhone 3G on an iPhone 4.

Years ago, when Steve and I met, he asked me to give him a call if my friends and I planned to attend a particular function.

I called him, as promised.  He answered the phone–it actually had a wire connecting it to the wall–and I said, “This is Gregg.  We’ll be there.”

When he tells the story, he says I hung up and l left him standing in his kitchen staring at the telephone.

I get text messaging.

What I don’t get is supposedly motivated students texting during class.

Orientation isn’t the most thrilling activity in nursing school.  It is filled with redundantly phrased requirements and a virtual litany of thou shalt and shalt nots.  However, it’s important students know the expectations and consequences of not meeting them.

On the first day of class, I asked students to silence their phones and to refrain from texting since it is distracting to others.  I added, “I understand that some of you have small children, and if you need to attend to an important message, please step out.”

My classroom doesn’t have a revolving door, but maybe it should.  When I attempted to stop the in and out activity by mentioning that we would break shortly, it had no effect.  A couple students implied they needed to use the restroom.  It seemed I had a room filled with bladder-compromised adults.  A student not so afflicted suggested the compromise in question was texting.

I cured the problem by announcing that if a student needed to leave the room they could return after the break, unless, of course, they had discussed their individual issue with me in advance.  No one left during class.

Go figure.  A cure better than antibiotics.

GEB

