We took Delta to NYC on 9/11.  That’s 9-1-1!

Even so, my first trip through the body scanner felt invasive.  Everything in the pockets had to be removed, even paper.

I stepped between two vertical black vertical panels, placed my feet on the marks, handed the man my boarding pass, put my hands over my head, fingers arranged just-so in a heart-shaped position.  Then I held still as instructed by the MAN!  I asked about that.  He assured me that a woman, hidden in the back somewhere, viewed the image.

Moving forward, I stood on a rubber mat, feet apart as indicated by the graphic, and waited for the woman to get a report on my body in her earbud.  She patted down my sides and back.  The heavy band on my jeans was the problem, I suppose, since she seemed to focus her attention there.  She didn’t say.

Steve went through the old-fashioned metal detector.  When I inquired, my GUARD said, “We can’t create a line.”

I moved off to collect my belongings and put on my shoes.  My boarding pass was missing.  I asked the MAN.  He pointed to a young traveler who held it in her hand.  He had given it to her in error.

I FELT SO SAFE.

S&J

The landing at LaGuardia was exciting.  We flew in over the water, took a chilling dive, hit the runway with a thud, then screeched to a rapid stop, as if the pilot was laying on the breaks.  The young Chinese woman sitting next to me let out a little scream and turned pale.

S&J

The Apple Store on Fifth Avenue!  Good grief, Charlie Brown.

The entry is a ground level, glass atrium with a spiral stairway leading down to the sales floor.  The design provides the necessary ambiance and lighting.  I stood in line for an hour to satisfy my latest case of iWant and left with an iPhone 4.

I think it’s the prettiest, busiest BASEMENT I ever visited.  Give the city folks credit.  They know how to use space.

S&J

Oh, the phone was defective.  The plain, little Apple Store in the Town Center Mall cheerfully replaced it.  Cool.

Steve is now using my old iPhone.  It seems iWant is a contagious condition.

GEB

