Over morning coffee, my husband commented on a piece in the Sun-Sentinel about crab, asparagus, and eggdrop soup. (I was going to say paper, but he was reading on my iPad!). I happened to be reading an article on my iPhone about research on depression. My brain–always a thing of wonder–ended up with crab, asparagus, and mice soup. Yum.

Isn’t menopause wonderful?

S&J

I’m not sure the i-cool for Menopause is working. My personal internal combustion simmered down for a few days, but now the blast furnace is up and running. I’ll take it awhile longer and see what happens.

Isn’t menopause wonderful?

S&J

The flip side of personal internal combustion (a.k.a. power surges, hot flashes, vasomotor instability) is invasive and shivering cold. Dilation of capillaries in the skin draws the blood outward and produces the flush. The environment cools the blood, lowering the core body temperature, stopping the heat, and producing the shivering cold for some women.

At the height of my menopausal adventure, which has lessened over time, my typical day included numerous such cycles.

Envision this.

Sit to watch television. Get warm. Take off jacket. Lower A/C. Turn on fan. Wait for effect. Then, shivering cold. Turn off fan. Raise A/C. Put on jacket. Get blanket. Invite warm dogs onto lap.

Then… “EVERYBODY OFF!”

Reverse.

Steve simply keeps reading his book or watching the television.

Isn’t menopause wonderful?

S&J

Did you notice how women of a certain age have issues with words, names, and facts?

The word is there somewhere, but, for the life of me, I can’t find it. People are helpful and try to guess the word. My students occasionally supply it, which annoyed me at one time. Now I just accept it with appreciation.

The word, name, or fact pops into my head later, unbidden and sometimes unwelcome, for example at three in the morning.

Isn’t menopause wonderful?

However, I noticed this happens with men of a certain age, too. Go figure. Get your testosterone levels checked, buddy. 🙂

S&J

This doesn’t mean that I’ve gone stupid. In fact, I notice the same retrieval issues with most people of a certain age. Someone might make an excuse and say we have more to remember, so it’s harder to sort it all out. I don’t believe that for a second. More sensory input blasts the typical young person in an hour than we got in a day—back in the day. My web research suggests that our brains may store information differently as we age. Of course, that may just be someone’s theory and not fact. The article stressed that it is not an indicator of decreased intelligence.

Having said that, it concerns me that we have politicians governing our country well into their eighties and nineties. It is difficult to believe they are any different from the rest of us. All you have to do is listen to the news to see solid evidence of their recall problems, but that is another topic.

GEB

