When itis combines with a body part, it translates to inflammation. For example, appendicitis is inflammation of the appendix.

I have daviditis.  It’s not an inflammation of my david.  I don’t have a body part with that name, and I don’t name my body parts people names in any event.  (I have been led to believe that gentlemen sometimes name a certain body part.  Perhaps they are more enamored with their parts than I am with mine.)

David is our personal trainer.  It’s not like you see on Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous.  Steve and I go to the gym where David inflicts harm on our poor bodies in the name of good health, strength, and tone.  I’ve termed the resulting agony daviditis.

I remember one notable day when he was stretching me out, and I was doing my best to impress him with my whining.  He said he didn’t understand what I had to complain about.  I was being thoroughly worked over by a buff younger man.  Yeah, right.  Ouch.

The gym is small and designed to meet the needs of the personal trainers and their clients.  It isn’t a spa.  There is no pool.  No handball court.  No classes.  No shower either.  Work out and go home.

There also are no hard bodies poured into skimpy activewear making more mature clients feel fair, fat, and inferior.  I like that part a lot.  Sure the trainers are all super fit and a few clients are as well, but not everyone.  I fit right in.

S&J

My friend Cindy has a completely different gym experience.  She belongs to one of the big commercial gyms and participates–daily I believe–in a great variety of scary sounding classes and groups.  She also does a shocking amount of cardio.  I suggested she needed a hobby.  She says she has one . . .  the gym.  Leading to gymitis, no doubt.

S&J

Of course, a mature adult doesn’t have to join a gym to get exercise.  Two women I work with run half-marathons.  I’m impressed.  Running isn’t fun to me.  I’d have to be chased by something scarier than old age to run that far.  Runitis?  That sounds like something brought on by chili peppers and not healthful exercise

S&J

My BFF, Ellie, plays tennis almost every day when she’s not overrun with obligations.  She’s an energetic, bold, and accomplished player.  I suppose she gets tennisitis on occasion.

S&J

The U.S. National Institutes of Health, National Institute on Aging’s Go4Life campaign recommends 30 minutes of moderate-intensity exercise on all or most days.  Check it out at http://www.nia.nih.gov/HealthInformation/go4life.htm.  Give health-itis a try.

GEB

