Mary Costantino, also a little Italian lady and author of the camel ride posting, tried her hand at translating the cookie recipe I blogged about in early December.  I especially anticipate adding the 4 oz of cats called for about 2/3 of the way down the list.  I’m wondering if there is any special part required and if the neighbor’s cat will sit still while I extract it.

 

“Tried to translate—but I can’t make out all the spelling of most of the words
So far
Recipe with walnuts and ?battiments
4 eggs
8 oz sugar
8 oz mazzola oil
8 oz walnuts
8 oz almonds which are ?scalded or blanched  and ?sliced (perhaps dialect for those words-not in dictionary
4 oz of ? cats? something done to them ?
mazzo means pack ?of some amount of teaspons of bicarbonit ?baking power or soda?
4 small ?teaspons of ?May?
350 somethings of flour with something done to it
cant really make out the rest.
Your best bet is to get a date to watch her make the cookies and take notes!”

 

I received the following email from an Italian-born nursing student, Giovanni Livolti:

 

“Mrs. Brickman, after further Assessment, Diagnosis, Intervention and Evaluation of the recipe for some sort of nut cookies, this is the best I could come up with… Good luck with the baking…and save me some!…lol”

Partial translation of recipe

 

 

Between the two translations, I now have 90% of the ingredients and all of the instructions.

 

Have a happy, healthy, and productive New Year.

 

GEB

 

