Leslie Diehl was kind enough to invite me to participate in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop in which authors are invited to talk about what they are working on.  The blog hop has been going on for some time, and for the most part, those who want to participate have already done so.  I suppose I’m bringing up the tail end of this little piece of BSP (blatant self promotion).

Leslie has a beautifully done and informative blog at http://anotherdraught.blogspot.com.  Visit and check her out.  She has interesting posts about writing and other writers as well.

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:


What is your working title of your book?


Imperfect DaddyA Sophia Burgess and Ray Stone Mystery

Image

The truth is that I’m releasing the book next month and have taken this opportunity for BSP.  In fact, my signing for the book is on at 7 p.m. on February 1 at Murder on the Beach Mystery Bookstore in Delray Beach.

Where did the idea come from for the book?


All of my mysteries feature bright, edgy, dedicated nurses who go beyond expectations to get the job done, often risking their professions and their lives in the process.

For Imperfect Daddy, my brain tagged onto a piece I read about child abuse.  The rest of it grew somewhere in the back of my brain and spilled out, as is the case with all my stories.  Child abuse is a somewhat taboo topic, or so I was told when I shopped the manuscript around for an agent.  I’ve tried to handle it in a sensitive
manner for all of the concerned characters.

What genre does your book fall under?

Mystery.  Subgenre: Medical mystery, amateur sleuth, and female sleuth

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?


Wow!  I should dream that big.  Jolie and Pitt!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?


Sophia nurses a child rape victim and gets pulled into the investigation,
then she antagonizes the wrong man.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?


I will release it on for Amazon Kindle and CreateSpace in January, 2013.  That translates to independently published.  Now the self-published authors are called Indies
which is a step up I suppose.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?


It took a good year.  I work full-time teaching nursing school, so I write when I can.  But, of course, that is only the beginning.  As an Indie author, I am not blessed with an agent or editor, so I work with a critique group.  I submit each chapter for critique, suffer through the sometimes brutal comments, then rewrite to make it better.  I believe independent authors have a responsibility to make their novels as cleanly written as possible.  Critique groups, beta readers, and unsuspecting husbands make that possible.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?


I was inspired by Barbara Parker, but I’d never claim to compare.  Perhaps the only comparison is the female protagonist has an ongoing and evolving relationship with her alpha-male boyfriend.  I aspire to write like Barbara did.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?


I don’t think that nurses get enough credit for the work they do or that abuse issues get enough publicity.  I intend to center all of the Sophia Burgess and Ray Stone Imperfect Series books around abuse issues.  The next one, I think, will deal with elder abuse.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?



Each of my books has a focus on a medical or nursing issue as a subplot.
In Imperfect Daddy, the subplot deals with the courage and
challenges of a young woman with Multiple Sclerosis.

Please visit the following blogs and see what the authors are up to.

Christy English:  A Writer’s Life:  Working with the Muse
http://www.christyenglish.com/2012/09/26/the-next-big-thing-find-out-what-im-working-on-next/

Stephanie Cowell, author of the beautiful novel CLAUDE AND CAMILLE
http://www.stephaniecowell.com/blog.htm

The Real Writer: Write For You: Inspiration. Information. Imagination. http://www.therealwriter.com/my_weblog/2012/10/the-next-big-thing-blog-hop.html

Brykan Chaffin’s GeekTells
http://geektells.com/work-in-progress-blog-hop-the-next-big-thing/

Michelle A. Hansen
http://www.michelleahansen.com/2012/09/the-next-big-thing-blog-hop-week-14/

