I’m sitting here being the good wife while my husband watches the Superbowl.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t intend to watch it.  I’m just fixin’ to be supportive and see a few cute commercials.

A conversation started the other day with the mention of the most recent husband-father sports hero cheating episode.  When I heard the news report about it last week, my thought was, Oh no, not him, too.  I suppose I’m naive and should be glad that at least he is supporting the child.  What I really believe is he should have supported his wife and kept things buttoned up–not the new media, his pants.

Once again, I’m astounded by the inability of adult men to put limits on their own sexual behavior.  My father-in-law (he’s almost 97, so he harbors a few dated opinions) thinks that the MAN isn’t to blame.  After all, what can he do when IT is offered to him.  If it is true that money and power make a man irresistible to certain women, then perhaps it’s time the men took the responsibility for setting limits.

Along those lines.  Don’t these women realize that if the man is cheating with her, he will cheat on her.  Cheating leopards, sports heroes, politicians, and superstars don’t change their spots, just their partners and locations.

Today I’m talking about athletes.  I’m concerned that our society makes heroes out of athletes that should be admired for their athletic prowess and perhaps treated as outcasts for their personal morals and outlandish behavior.  They may claim that it isn’t their responsibility to be any more than human.  Perhaps not.  Let’s pay them accordingly.

My friend told me his sons are big fans of the star players on the Miami Heat.  They have posters in their bedroom and named jerseys.  He is wondering about when to have the discussion that being a good athlete does not necessarily equal being a good person, one that’s worthy of hero worship.

Tonight they are making a big deal about Ray Lewis.  Google him.  He’s quite a hero.

Later.  GEB

